h1

Embracing your inner snail…

May 28, 2007

I am slowly become an addict to Ted Talks clips. One that I was watching this morning, was particularly interesting. It is about the slow movement and in it, Carl Honore talks about the whole concept of “slowing down”. We are constantly rushing through every tiny aspect of our lives. Just last week, my local incy supermarket installed these new self scanning gadgets, where you scan your stuff by yourself (note:I don’t think this would ever work in other countries because of the high trust element involved). Anyhow, it is all in a bid to save time standing in line at the till. Everything we do, at least I do is in a bid to save time.

I take on more courses so that I can bring forward my internship so by extension graduate faster. People buy microwave food so they don’t have to go through the whole rigmarole of cooking – it’s way too time consuming and that time could be spent doing other things. When was the last time I just chilled. Like really did nothing for like 20mins and didn’t think about anything? The moment I am not doing something, I’m busy thinking about what I shall be doing next and how to do this, that or the other. We have power naps, water free shampoo – so you don’t have to actually go under water to clean your hair, just rub this stuff in. Nothing is done at leisure anymore. Like Honore says, the Nordic countries are more slow paced in the working environment. And it’s true. They have a gazillion coffee breaks up here. They literally drop everything they are doing – doesn’t matter how important, and they will actually just take a break. The result surprisingly, is that they are at the top of the league in terms of competition. Which according to what we think in today’s age, shouldn’t be the case with all the coffee breaks that they have. But it is.

It’s like we have a big clock ticking in our heads and we have to beat this clock and we are all running around like headless chickens trying to do this. But we don’t take the time out to smell the flowers along the way, and it’s sad. So here is to taking a little time out sometimes, just to remind myself that indeed I am human and alive. It can’t be all about the rat race all day everyday.

3 comments

  1. So true! We rush to. to. to nowhere. At times I ask myself, when I’m done doing all these things I am rushing to finish, then what afterwards? Time to take it easy is a must. So now when I do something I like, eg out and about taking pictures, I take my time and enjoy it to the max.

    On that self-checkout thing, we have them here in the states too. Like you, I was saying something like this could never fly back home.


  2. “Just last week, my local incy supermarket installed these new self scanning gadgets, where you scan your stuff by yourself (note:I don’t think this would ever work in other countries because of the high trust element involved)”……i swear kipepeo even me if get this chance hakuna lie’s i will not pay…..n i wonder how scandinavian countries are up there economy wise with all those breaks…damn!


  3. those power naps will never work for me…if a decide to sleep then i’d better tell ya gooodnight!!! i think i enjoy washing my hair the usual way-why use that other stuff?



Leave a Reply

