h1

Of internships…

December 21, 2006

My internship went off to a bit of a rocky start.  The head of the Kenyan chapter who approved my position wasn’t here on my first day and miscommunication meant that I was a bit lost and being shuttled between people, but day 4 and I am settled now.  And I am a bad ass intern!  Thank my stars I don’t have to get people coffee, pick laundry and other horrible things people do.  I am helping buy a stationary machine for the office which is alot of money to me….clearly not as much to them.  So when the sales people come in and I am told to handle it, step in miss shrewd kipepeo intern!  There are these sales men sucking up to me, cracking jokes, etc thinking that I am going to influence whether they get the deal or not.  Haha, they have no clue my position here is INTERN!!!!  Lowest level of the organisational food chain.  I am a nothing.  Here I am acting all cool and collected when inside I’m thinking daaaamn.  I don’t even know what I’m doing, in some meeting room, with two sales men, giving them a hard time and shooting all these questions at them and Lord knows they probably thought half the things I was asking were obvious.  Although I must admit I did enjoy the power play and I got a pretty cool diary to go with it.  These people should pay me!!

6 comments

  1. This reminded me of this guy at work who was meeting some sales guy to get samples we needed for a project. When it was revealed he was just a co-op student, the sales guy lost complete interest in him, whereas prior to this knowledge he was fawning all over the guy.


  2. Welcome back home, glad that your internship is not one of those that we all hate to deal with enjoy it. Are we on for sato’s(23rd) meetup at buffet park, 3pm?


  3. LOL Glad you are back in the country and settling in well. Free diary to boot, heheheh, now i need one, who is handing them out? 🙂


  4. Enjoy the power while it lasts! Have a ball over the hols!


  5. happy holidays!! and enjoy the sunshine, and the good food and people!! and the power, u intern u!! cheers!


  6. Your internship seems to have gotten off to a great start.



Leave a Reply

